top of page

RPN, RN, or NP?

I was in high school when I first discovered that I wanted to be a nurse. Actually it was my mom who suggested it (thanks, mom). I just knew that I liked human sciences.

Once I reached nursing school, little did I know about the industry. I just literally dived in. (Another topic for another time!)

So if you're thinking about nursing school, continue reading. And if you're already in it (student or practicing), also keep reading.

The first question you need to ask yourself, is to figure out what class of nursing you want to practice in. There are three different classes of nurses to know of:

1. Registered Practical Nurses

2. Registered Nurses

3. Nurse Practitioners

(To gather all the details about the differences between the three please visit the College of Nurses website. If you need any help navigating through the site, send me a direct message and I'll be more than happy to help!)

Now to get back to the point. It's important to know what class you want to practice in because this will greatly determine the amount of education you will need to do. I'll outline the classifications in a table so it's a little more clear.

I know this is extremely vague, but it's the simplest I can put it. It's important to know where and how you'd like to practice, because without proper planning, it can seriously derail your career path and ambitions. But not to worry! There are plenty of other things that you can do to continue embellishing your portfolio, shall you decide to go back to schoo

Like me!

Want to know more? Stay tuned for the follow up post!

Get notified instantly of new posts by subscribing now!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page